Damn Video Cards

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Damn Video Cards

I'm in the market for a new video card. my current card, a modest a NVIDIA Geforce 2 mx 400, will not have enough power to chug through the latest titles. or so i have heard. However i have limited knowledge of video cards. i know that for good framerates i need a fast GPU and that the number of megs a card has has something to do with the resolutions you can run at. other than that i have no ideas.

So what i am asking is there a site i can go and read up on this subject. or do any of you guys have any recomendations. i had hoped to spend around 150-200 dollars on this but this is more wishful thinking than anything else. what is the industry standard?
    thanks for your help.
    Last edited by =DdogG=; 07-28-2004, 01:16 PM.
    "The electric Yellow's got me by the brain banana!"

Re: Damn Video Cards

A GeForce 2 MX shouldn't even be able to run last years titles, not even including the fact that the MX series are the NVidia "budget cards".

I got my current GeForceFX 5700 for $150. It runs UT2k4 at fairly respectable frames at full blown (1024x768), although my other PC specs probably make up for more. No matter if you choose ATI or NVidia: I would not spend more than $200 on a card (I shoot for around 170-180).

Comment

i just found out that i need to be able to AGP 4x or somthing.

Comment

Don't worry about AGP 4x. Just get an AGP card as all current cards support 4x. There's 8x AGP but some don't even notice the difference. Be sure to balance your video card purchase for a CPU upgrade in the future. If you're a serious gamer, you'll want to budget as much as possible for the video card and a future CPU upgrade. A 9800 Pro would be a nice purchase but be sure your current processor will make decent use of it. If you want nVidia, stay away from the lower end FX line like the 5200. Those were horrible compared to ATI cards of the same level.