Installation service recommendation

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Installation service recommendation

I'm planning on up grading my computer in the near future, video card, more memory, etc, but I don't feel comfortable installing the hardware myself or choosing the appropriate parts for many reasons but two specifically:

1) I have no experience with installation and could easily get myself into trouble.
    2) I'd rather spend my time playing and not fiddling with my PC. I don't mind spending money for labour if the work is done correctly and if another problem arises I can have the problem solved promptly.

Can any one recommend a computer installation service? Should I be looking in the back of my local paper for an independent computer service person who charges by the hour? Or a company like Geek Squad? Or something else?

What are my options?

-Thanks!
    |TG-9th| TheFatKidDeath
    "Born to Party, Forced to Work."
    - Check me out on The Onion
    - I'm on the local news!

Re: Installation service recommendation

I doubt I'll be the first to say this, but it's really not hard to slap some hardware together. If you discuss your upgrade in this forum first, people will ensure you get the right parts. There may be some disagreement on brands and such, but this forum will ensure that everything you are preparing to buy will be compatible AND that you don't forget anything.

Once you have all the parts and you know they're the right ones, putting them together is easy. I don't say this to be condescending, but my 7 year old kid built his computer under close supervision from me.

If you have absolutely no desire to put one together, then I would look for any local computer shop to put it together for you. Make sure you tell them what parts you want to be upgraded to. If you're keeping your HDD, no problem. If you're upgrading your HDD, make sure you take them your copy of Windows to install on it.