Another RAM Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another RAM Question

This is may sound like a silly question to you, but I'm still learning the in's and out's of my computer. So here goes: does more RAM increase you game's frames per second? Or is that primarily the workload of your video card, mother board, and processor?

Re: Another RAM Question

After a certain point, more RAM doesn't help with performance. The main pillars of a gaming system would be video card and processor. The RAM helps with having enough data readily available to process instead of reading it from the harddrive. Go with 2GB to be safe. Games these days seem to be either 1GB or 2GB for the recommended specs.

I got 3 game boxes around me and none mention 2GB as a recommended spec. R6: Vegas is 1GB (no recommended given for RAM). World in Conflict is 1GB recommended (1.5GB for Vista users). Company of Heroes: Opposing Fronts is 1GB recommended. This is my main reason that I think getting 4GB is a complete waste of money.

- It's who you game with.

Comment

I am running Vista-64 and wish I had 4 gb.

Comment

I'm running Vista 32-bit and don't wish I had 4GB. I'm at 50% RAM usage (~1GB used) while I have a browser open with 4 tabs, iTunes, MSN, TS, and several widgets on the sidebar.

Comment

I am also running 64 bit Vista and I also wish I had 4 GB. I have to dual boot with XP in order to run Battlefield 2. Sarc is right in not wanting 4GB with 32 bit Vista because it can't access more than about 3.5GB, including video card RAM.
          sigpic

Comment

I guess I'm still a little confused. If you're running programs and using 50% of your ram with a total of 2GBs, why don't u just scale back to 1GB. Where does the benefit of the extra ram come into play? Even if you had only 3GBs max wouldn't their be similar benefits?

Comment

Originally posted by NorCalRoach View Post