Upgrade CPU?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrade CPU?

I'm contemplating a CPU upgrade to accompany my upcoming GPU upgrade (7800GT to 8800GT). I've been using an AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ for two years on an Asus A8N-SLI Premium and am contemplating making a change. Since I don't really have the cash for a total upgrade (add mobo, RAM, PSU) I've been looking at what is still available for the Socket 939...not much. Looking at Newegg there are only a few choices, which are best summarized as:

1. X2 4200+ ($66) which at 2.2GHz isn't much of a step up from a 2.0GHz and has the same 1GB L2 cache.

2. An Opteron 180 ($170), which is dual core and runs at 2.4GHz and has 2MB of L2 cache. The Opteron 185 runs at 2.6GHz, but costs $60 more.

Unfortunately, since Socket 939 CPUs aren't made any longer the prices are higher than for a comparable AM2 CPU.

Is it worth it to upgrade or should I not bother until I can do the whole system?
    |TG|Melee
    Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can't Lose!

Re: Upgrade CPU?

It would be nice to get a CPU upgrade too but it's probably better if you could move to a better AM2 or a Core 2. It seems crappy to pour money into a dead socket.

- It's who you game with.

Comment

Don't bother with the upgrade. You should be able to get 2.4 GhZ+ out of that 3800+ for free. It will bottleneck the new video card a little bit (my Opty [email protected] 2.4 GhZ slows down my 2900XT a bit) but it should be fine. Neither of those upgrades would be worth the money.
      sigpic

Comment