Help with vista

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with vista

So i got my new pc today and im having a major problem i call my internet company and they couldnt help me because its not with connection with them its with my vista . i cant seem to long onto most sites ? this one included anyone no why i cant connect to alot of sites ? i can get google up but i cant get msn, yahoo TG server ........ etc WTF is wrong it just hangs on connecting ? all my links wont work..... PS im new to vista as of today so i havent a clue !plz help

Re: Help with vista

Before you do this..what are you seeing on the screen?

The first thing to do is to try upgrading your network drivers. If that does not work, this frequently does.

1. win-key+R to open the run box
    2. Type devmgmt.msc and hit ENTER
    3. You may have to confirm the UAC
    4. Expand Network Adapters
    5. Right Click your NIC device
    6. Click Properties
    7. Click on the Advanced tab
    8. Select IPv4 Checksum Offload
    9. Set the value to Disabled
    10. Click OK
    11. You may need to reboot
    "Don't tell people how to do things, tell them what to do and let them surprise you with their results." Gen. George Patton

Comment

nope that didnt work ? my adapter is Nvidia nForce networking controller ?..... still cant download any programs , and i cant view many sites ?

Comment

Can you run a tracert command on a couple of the websites that don't load? We have to figure out if it's the OS causing the problem or some other part in the route to the website that isn't loading properly.

Open a run box and type 'cmd' to open a command line.
        Use the command 'tracert www.website.com' to do the test.

- It's who you game with.

Comment

make sure the dns servers in your router are good. use freedns servers if you can...

also... it sounds like maybe a new computer. does it have norton or macafee or do you use the charter one?

also, bad cable.