Anyone help me with Memory latency?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone help me with Memory latency?

What is it all about? Does certain memory have certain latency, or can you change the latency of any memory? How would you go about doing that?

And on the same note... Is name-brand memory better? Why? What advantages does it have? I've heard that it is sometimes faster and almost always more stable. Is that true?

I'm in the first stages of building my first PC from scratch and am trying to get all the facts so that I do it right. I'm a newbie here and have some knowledge, but in some areas I'm pitifully ignorant.
    Thanks for you help.
    It is our light, not our darkness, that most frightens us.

Re: Anyone help me with Memory latency?

depends on what you are really looking to do with it. overclocking? go for the high end stuff. building an email/ web surfing box, get the cheapest that is compatible. latency is the "cas" number you see. less is better. most DDR is 2.5 or 3, but the good stuff is 2...... if you get like pc3700 that is cas 2.5, you can drop that cas timing in most bios'es to a stable cas 2 @ PC3200 (200 fsb) or PC2700 (166 fsb). (in most cases... not a rule, just a guideline) you will also see other numbers like 3-3-6 or 4-4-7. these are other timings as well, and all are rather technical to explain. performance differences are negligible in most cases, but suffice it to say, lower is better on all those timings.
    Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein
    The two most common elements in the universe are Hydrogen and stupidity. -Harlan Ellison

If all else fails: "rm -rf /"

Comment

Originally posted by =DdogG=
      you will also see other numbers like 3-3-6 or 4-4-7. these are other timings as well, and all are rather technical to explain.