Building a new PC

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a new PC

Hey everyone, I'm wondering if I can get a few pointers.

First I'll start out by saying I'm pretty new at building computers. I've done my fair share of upgrades and all that, but the process of finding parts that will work together is pretty foreign to me.

First things first, This new PC is going to be for gaming. I may eventually install Microsoft Office but the main idea here will be centered around games.

I've searched on many online computer stores, On TigerDirect I noticed some barebones systems. Keeping in mind building these is a new thing for me, would something like this be an okay start?

I have access to full operating systems from an agreement with my college and microsoft, so that part is not an issue. The big thing for me is the basic hardware, Motherboards, Processors, Power supplies, RAM, etc. The systems I spoke of above mostly contain those things, so it seems reasonable to me. I'd like to keep the cost of these parts as low as possible. I dont need 2 Gigs of the fastest RAM out there... Just enough to run most things I'll need for a while.

Any recommendations for or against these "barebones" systems, or whats the better processor type.

As far as Video Cards go, I know how expencive these get, Right now I am planning on buying a Radeon X800 (or better) for my future system. I currently own multiple radeon cards and have been satisfied with them. It'd take quite a bit to turn me to nVidia too, I still hold a grudge for when they bought out 3dfx.. I loved my voodoo 3

So basically, Any and all recommendations and help is greatly appreciated, Thanks for your time.
    RAWGRLRLRLRRLGLRL!!!

Nations are like individuals: they achieve more when they plan to plant a tiny tree, and do it, than when they propose to raise an entire forest and then fall asleep in the furrows.