64 bit gaming?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 64 bit gaming?

I recall about 5 years ago being all excited about 64 bit computing. That vista even came out in a 32 bit version is a big disappointment for me.

I use my home computer for gaming. It has winxp sp3 32 bit running on it now.

I have 4 gigs of ram, and I really want to "use" that 4th gig that windows is not recognizing due the the address space limitations of the 32 bit OS.
    I can upgrade to xp 64 bit, or vista 64 bit.

I still read problems about vista gaming and fps hits even after sp1 for vista.
    So the question I have is if it is worth the OS upgrade, and if so, should I go 64 bit vista or XP?

“Up, sluggard, and waste not life; in the grave will be sleeping enough!” Benjamin Franklin

Re: 64 bit gaming?

I've been using xp 64bit for a few years now... haven't found a game that I can't play, and most new programs / hardware / software supports a 64bit OS. The only times I've run into issues were when i was trying to use old hardware that didn't have driver support.

For the most part, xp 64 has been stable for me and runs faster than the dual booted Vista 32 bit.

For what it's worth, I'm running 2 gigs of ram (soon to be 4, come on newegg!) and a e6600 oc'd to 3Ghz.

-Scott

Comment

I am happy with Vista64. Have been running SP1 for about a month. Look back over the last few pages cause we just had a good discusion about Vista 64.
      You will probably take a small hit on FPS moving to Vista according to just about every article I have read where they compared the 2 in gaming, but most other benchmarks are close to equal.
      Also, you are running a single core if I remember right, and Vista is written to take better advantage of multicore. Not sure what it does on a single as I have never seen a review with that. They always have a dual at least.

LINKS

Stoop and you'll be stepped on; stand tall and you'll be shot at.

-Carlos A. Urbizo-

Comment