19" CRT or 22" LCD??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 19" CRT or 22" LCD??

I have been playing on my CRT for the past 5+ years and I have no complaints. The wife is asking what do I want for my birthday. I use a 22" LCD at work and I do enjoy the extra space. My question is what issues did you run into when you swapped out for a LCD? Were they little problems? Did they drag on? Did you or do you still have second thoughts? I am currently running 7600GTs in SLI. My CPU is an Athlon 64 3200, with 2 GB of ram.

Re: 19" CRT or 22" LCD??

For office work, LCD is fine. For image processing and gaming, CRT is a vanishing hero.

Comment

I use a 23" LCD now plus a 20" LCD upright. It's great. Check your budget and get the biggest LCD you can afford. You can always scale down to a lower res.

Comment

Originally posted by Reader1234 View Post
        I have been playing on my CRT for the past 5+ years and I have no complaints. The wife is asking what do I want for my birthday. I use a 22" LCD at work and I do enjoy the extra space. My question is what issues did you run into when you swapped out for a LCD? Were they little problems? Did they drag on? Did you or do you still have second thoughts? I am currently running 7600GTs in SLI. My CPU is an Athlon 64 3200, with 2 GB of ram.
        I am keeping my 21" CRT for as long as i can. I have the dell 24" at work and it is very nice for work.

1 is games, especially the older ones that can't run at the LCDs native resolution. They look ok but not great.

2 is black levels. LCDs cannot come close to CRTs black levels. I watch movies on mine at times and the gray blacks you get on a LCD annoy me.
        Iím not racists, I have republican friends. Radio show host.
        - "The essence of tyranny is the denial of complexity". -Jacob Burkhardt
        - "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds" - Emerson