future school project!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• future school project!

I go to a school that offers industry certifications to students in several fields last year i graduated the A+ hardware/software course with honors top of class and as such next years project which requires the cooperation of the Net+, A+, culinary arts, construction, AutoCAD classes i will be the IT division Admin

what we are doing...

we are going to upgrade a 1948 school cafeteria into the new modern culinary arts class. according to the principal the last thing that really updated was a required installation of metal counters in the late 60's and they got a new Hobart industrial mixer in the 80's.

my team will be installing state of the art touchscreen POS units and setting up a POS network along with menu display screens and register to kitchen monitors.

heres the real kicker, as the head i have to make some discisons about about the hardware to use and the software. it cant get to expensive we are on a budget (they didnt tell me how much so im going with Federally cheap) so im really relieing on Open source freeware instead of $600 POS software (between the server and the 2 register machines that would be in the 1200-1800 dollar range thats IF i dont have to buy copies for the thing clients also.)

Software is my only real issue hereive found some suitable Open source stuff but the only one i could test under my windows environment was a piece of DOS software (there's a word you'd though you'd never here again eh?) and the rest requires a KDE enviroment which i cant get (outta test boxes i actually have a copy of Knoppix, Pardus, OpenSuSe.)
    if anyone has some experience with resturant POS software thats cheap/free please post it.