5.1 and 7.1 systems

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 5.1 and 7.1 systems

ok, i have finished my new computer and the sound card seems to support 7.1 sound systems, i guess it'll support 5.1 also?
    First question, which do you suggest and why? im new to these sound systems.
    Second, Are they really worth it? Do they work with all games or just games that support it?
    thanks
    jack

Re: 5.1 and 7.1 systems

I think WC3 is the only game that supports 6.1 EAX. I wouldn't think any would support 7.1. You could still use it, but it won't be true surround sound for those games. I'd get a nice 5.1 or 6.1 setup on the cheap size unless you use your PC for your living room entertainment.

Just remember: you have to have devices which support the latest surround hardware or else you just have a lot of speakers playing the same sounds.

Comment

Originally posted by TheFeniX
      I think WC3 is the only game that supports 6.1 EAX. I wouldn't think any would support 7.1. You could still use it, but it won't be true surround sound for those games. I'd get a nice 5.1 or 6.1 setup on the cheap size unless you use your PC for your living room entertainment.

Just remember: you have to have devices which support the latest surround hardware or else you just have a lot of speakers playing the same sounds.
      I could be wrong (that actually happened once before...), but I think that the number of channels (speakers) is dependent on the sound card, not the game. The game reports a 3D "location" that the sound should be emanating from, and the sound card uses the available channels (speakers) to replicate the sound coming from that location. EAX doesn't have much to do with the actual surround sound, it merely uses the surround sound to recreate environmental effects (like the difference between the echo in a cave half filled with water, and the echo in a long metallic tube...).
      Become a supporting member!
      Buy a Tactical Duck!