Check your network router firmware

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Check your network router firmware

I've been running a Netgear WGT624v3 for about 2 years(?) now and we started developing issues with the network dropping out, sometimes every 15 minutes for hours! I was getting all kinds of pissed because I couldn't figure out what was going on. Everytime I log into my router's settings page, it automatically checks the Netgear site for firmware updates, and reports back that there are no new updates. So like a fool I took it's word for it.

Well, I hit the Netgear support site, and just happened to think to look at the downloads page. My router was SEVEN firmware updates behind!! So I manually downloaded and installed them last Friday afternoon and our network has not gone down ONCE since.

Just thought I'd pass on the tip
    |TG-55| Infantry Division - Former Captain

Re: Check your network router firmware

I recently fixed a problem with my router similar to this. I had been having problems with Steam games off and on for the past year or so and could not for the life of me figure out what the deal was b/c all other games worked fine. I have an older Linksys wired router and found that the current version of firmware has problems with Steam and that simply installing the previous version fixes it.

Comment

I had a similar situation happen with the D-Link router I used to use. Starting 2142 (or most any game for that matter) would kick most if not all wireless clients off. Ran a firmware update, and the issue went away.

Then I bought a newer CISCO branded Linksys and everything has been fine ;)
      "But way back where I come from, we never mean to bother. We don't like to make our passions other peoples' concern." -Dar Williams
      Former Captain of the 55th Infantry Division

Comment

It's nice that they still release firmware upgrades for your product.