No announcement yet.

New Computer Build Completed

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Computer Build Completed

Thought I post this summary in this forum for anyone looking for a set of compatible parts for a build.

Antec 900 Extreme Gaming Case
    Gigabyte EP45-DS3L Motherboard
    EVGA GeForce GTX 280 1GB Videocard
    PC Power & Cooling 750watt power supply
    Intel Core 2 Q9550
    Kingston DDR2 1066Mhz 4GB memory
    Western Digital VelociRaptor 300GB 10000rpm SATA drive
    LG 20X DVD Burner SATA
    Windows XP Home

This is my second computer build so I'm no expert by any means; however, they all went together easily. It booted up on first start and Windows loaded quickly and without initial issues.

I did notice a few quirky things as played with it - Windows not starting cleanly on reboot, games crashing and locking up. Sequentially I worked to try find the issues. I concluded it was the memory after everything I tried(BIOS update, newest drivers, ensuring BIOS settings were all correct, etc.,) didn't fix the random issues.

I replaced the memory with 2GB of Kingston DDR2 800Mhz from my old computer and everything lined out. No issues during three days of gaming and messing around. I am a little annoyed at this because I deliberately chose Gigabyte approved 1066Mhz to match the board. And, I know the BIOS was correctly detecting the settings.

I ran the free, default setting 3Dmark06 benchmark and it reports 15300. BTW, I get the same number with 800 or 1066Mhz memory.

All parts from Newegg except the case and OS from Frys. Total cost about $1750.

System runs nicely cool I think. The GTX 280 is 50C idle and reaching 70C after 1 hr of Mass Effect. CPUs show about 30C idle and reaching 50C after 1 hr of gaming - I noticed Mass Effect using all 4 cores while POE2, PR, WoW don't use them all as much.

All fans in the Antec case are on low(three speed settings).