Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2008

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2008

A little background first. I am an IT professional, and I work for a very large midwest-based regional bank (Chicago to Miami). I have worked in the past with enterprises that spanned up to 70,000 seats across all timezones. My speciality is client engineering and deployment, but like any good client IT professional I need to have a good understanding of the server infrastructure my client infrastucture interfaces with.

Now, with that aside, let me post two links that recently caught my attention. I have no idea how I missed these:

Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2008 Home
    Microsoft Hyper-V Server 2008 x64 Download

I downloaded and installed this free version of the Hyper-V Server 2008 and installed it on a spare computer I had at home. It's the Core version, meaning at login you get a command prompt and a VBScript menu to drive your basic functions (join domain, leave domain, rename computer, turn on RDP, configure network, etc). It's expected that you'll manage the server via remote using MMC snap-in's and such. If you download the MMC snap-in's for Vista you can then manage the Hyper-V features of the server and install your virtual servers on top of it.

That's right, apparently Microsoft is handing out a free Virtal machine platform. Just the platform. You have to still provide the software to install on the virtual machines you create. Linux seems to work. I'm running two two Server 2008 VM's as well as a Server 2003 VM, all on the free Hyper-V Server 2008 install from Microsoft.

My familiarity is mostly with VMWare. I know VMWare ESX server very well, and I have several coworkers who live and breath in the product. I know it's strengths (which are many) and it's weaknesses. It's a great platform. But it isn't free.

Curiously, only certain CPU's from Intel support the VT technology required by Hyper-V.