PS3 Media Server questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PS3 Media Server questions

So I'm looking to make a server that will house all my various videos, pictures and what not so that I can access them from my PS3. Trying to save myself from burning DVD's all the time.

I've never done this before. Is there anything special that I'll need to do aside from hooking it all up and telling the PS3 to find a media server? I could use either an XP pro or Server 2003 box for the actual file storage. Is there any OS that would be better for this task?

As long both the server and PS3 are hooked into the same router, they should be able to find each other right?

TG-18th 18th SF Operational Detachment Delta

If you're playing the game, be in the correct TeamSpeak Channel.

Re: PS3 Media Server questions

It's pretty simple. The PS3 will find any DLNA-compatible media server, such as Windows Media Player. Here is a setup guide: http://www.somelifeblog.com/2007/08/vista-setup.html
    Twisted Firestarter
    a.k.a |TG| Harkonian
    sigpic

Comment

Ok, but what about files that won't play in WMP? For instance I've got .avi files that won't work with WMP but will play with VLC and when I burned them to a disk they play on the PS3. Will go over even though WMP can't work the file?

Comment

Originally posted by Spyder228 View Post
        Ok, but what about files that won't play in WMP? For instance I've got .avi files that won't work with WMP but will play with VLC and when I burned them to a disk they play on the PS3. Will go over even though WMP can't work the file?

thats a tough one, why not try it and see?

Comment

Before I got my new router, I was using Twonky: http://www.twonkyvision.de/
          Become a supporting member!
          Buy a Tactical Duck!
          Take the world's smallest political quiz! "I was touched by His Noodly Appendage."
          TacticalGamer TX LAN/BBQ Veteran:

Comment

Originally posted by Spyder228 View Post