Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice on new gaming rig

Hi guys,

I'm looking for advice on a new system. I'm still up in the air on whether I should just buy one from ibuypower.com or try and build one. I'm leaning toward building one because of the money that can be saved, even though I have never done it before.

I know that I was and intel core i7 920, an evga nvidia gtx 280 2g, and 4-6gb of DDR3 ram. Beyond that however I have no idea what to get as far as the motherboard, power supply and such. I would like to keep it in the $1500~ range and it's difficult when I'm looking through newegg because I'm not entirely sure what everything means.

I would also like it to be somewhat future proof so that I can upgrade the processor in the future and possibly add in a second video card. Is liquid cooling worth it? It gets pretty hot where I am and I don't always use the air conditioner to save money. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Fiddlestx

edit* .. what version of windows would you suggest?

Re: Need advice on new gaming rig

With $1500 you could easily build a very powerful computer, probably more than necessary. If you want to future-proof your rig, don't buy the most expensive stuff. Buy two or three steps down and save the rest of your money to upgrade later. For the money, upgrading often with mid-range hardware always beats buying the top-line stuff and trying to stretch its life to 4 years.

If you're not going to overclock (and there's not much reason to), then liquid cooling is an unnecessary expense.

A second video card is unnecessary unless you're running some extremely high resolutions. Even then, it's probably better to save that money for an earlier upgrade.