Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dell's AC charge adapter being a pain

Hello, Helpful Internet Masses.

In order to charge my laptop now (the cheapest model when I bought it May 2005) I have to push in the plug and wiggle it and bend it and shove it in different directions until I see the green charge light in front illuminate. Then I have to hold it there. It won't charge if I let go (if at all). It also won't charge if I turn on the laptop. Basically if I want to charge it, it has to be off and I have to hold the plug in place after finding where it likes to be.

Is there a good solution? Can I hardwire anything anywhere (I have about eight years worth of experience with soldering irons, solder, and flux with slot cars, RC cars and helicopters but have never soldered anything PC)?

Secondly, the very bottom picture is where the battery attaches. If fixing that little box the plug goes into can't work, can I get just that plug somewhere and get my own lithium battery charger that I'd use for my R/C car and heli lithium batts (online versions of laptop-specific battery chargers are around $180) instead of going through the rear of the laptop?

Thanks to all in advance.

Re: Dell's AC charge adapter being a pain

Maybe the female and male parts have been compressed, stretched, and generally worn out. Before soldering anything, maybe you could shove something conductive inside the adapter end, which might help create a better connection.
    "Common sense is not so common." -Voltaire

Comment

Thanks for the reply, War.