Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need help overclocking i7 920 to 3.0 (Complete noob here)

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need help overclocking i7 920 to 3.0 (Complete noob here)

The title of this thread really says it all. I currently have a i7 920 running at 2.67, and would like to overclock it to 3.0
    Temperature, fans, etc. are not an issue here, all I want to do is overclock...
    I've read through a number of guides, forums, etc., and I understand the basics of overclocking the i7. However, these guides have the i7 overclocked to 4.0 or 3.8, and thats not what I'm looking for.

Essentially, what I want to know is, could one of you be kind enough to give me a watered down, easy-for-a-noob, step-by-step guide for overclocking the i7 920 to 3.0. I would be incredibly grateful, and would definitely +rep.

Thanks tons in advance,
    Cody

Re: Need help overclocking i7 920 to 3.0 (Complete noob here)

Originally posted by Corporal_Cody View Post
    .. Temperature, fans, etc. are not an issue here, all I want to do is overclock...
    Um... I don't know a lot about overclocking, but I do know that with a 130 watt processor, if you want to overclock you had better be worried about Temp and fans or you are going to have a $300 burring pile of i7. Unless by this you are saying that you already addressed these issues, I would seriously suggest you check your thermal capabilities before you progress any farther.

Comment

What is the make and model of your *motherboard?

*Needed info for BIOS settings. Usually, motherboard manufacturers have Forums for each model of motherboard wherein O.C. proceedures are usually discussed.