Problems With AMD 64 3200+

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problems With AMD 64 3200+

Hey there, just built a new computer. Had some troubles with it and wanted to know if you could help me. This is my first time buildign a computer, and i dont know whats going wrong.

Just got:
    AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
    Chaintech S1689 Mobo
    Corsair Value Select PC3200 Dual Channel (2GB Memory Kit) 184-pin DDR400
    500W Intel/AMD ready, Dual Fans(80mm), Dual Heatsinks (Made by MGE)
    Ultra Fire HeatPipe/Dual 80mm Fan
    One CD-Rom 52X
    One Floppy
    Two 40 Gig Maxtor IDE Hardrives (One unpluged for time being)
    SoundBlaster Live! 24-bit
    BFG GeForece FX5500 (Soon to be GeForce 6800)
    D-link Wireless Adapter (802.11G 108Mbps)

My problem is that when i can actualy boot into Windows XP Pro it takes forever to load any kind of program, Internet Explorer/Firefox, And after 2-3 mins of browsing my computer freezes for a few seconds, then later on it locks up completly. Sometimes Xp doesnt even get loaded before it locksup on me.

Can be getting to hot, ive got 6 80mm fans, and one 120mm fan.
    2 80mm on case(One front/One Side), 2 80mm on Heatsink for CPU, 2 80mm in Powersupply, 1 120mm in back of case. Normal Temp in Bios(On chip) = 40*c Temp in case 30/32*c.

So far ive tryed to unplug uneeded things, like extra hhd, sound card, ive tryed to load windows with just floppy/cdrom/video/hhd1/one stick of ram(Both at different intervals); Tryed disabling Cool 'n' Quiet, ?underclocking?... Its at 800Mhz FSB? Im not to sure about all this(Clocking and whant not). Im pretty sure its down to being RAM/CPU/Mobo.

My dad is the main coputer dude around here, but hes away on a trip right now, and ive got a tournament for a game of mine tonight
    Oyee

Re: Problems With AMD 64 3200+