Building a HTPC, Any TG HTPC Owners?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a HTPC, Any TG HTPC Owners?

I'm about one or two conversations away from convincing my 50+ year old dad in letting me build him a HTPC so he can hook it up via HDMI to the HDTV in the living room.

However, I seem to run into a snag... I need help picking out a few components as I've never built a SFF rig before where space is so tight and crucial to airflow.

Here's the list of parts I've picked out so far:

I'm trying to keep the cost as low as possible. Eventual plan is to either install XP or Linux onto the machine (probably the latter). Then most likely MythTV or Boxee.

Doesn't look like any of the new HTPC pre-built machines will work as Dad still wants to be able to play some DVDs (which don't work on any of his settops).

Noise and cooling is a big factor. Will be going into a homemade wood cabinet and probably sit with a half a dozen other settops. Dad likes to skimp on the AC during the summer months (might change now that he's older).

Now this is where I'm stuck:

Remote Control ($25): http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-191-_-Product

As with any settop, I think it's become a expectation and would go a long way to making my life easier than him calling me because he can't figure out how to play a movie.

I'm swamped with so many choices just from NewEgg and picked that one out of the bunch. Are there any better remotes for HTPCs out there? Can anyone link me to one they are using for their HTPC?

CPU Fan:

Anyone know the dimensions of the stock AMD heatsink fans? How tall are they? Think it'll fit in the Foxconn case above?

If not, or you think I could benefit from a aftermarket cooler, which one would you suggest? Links?

Noise and Cooling