UPS Battery Backups

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UPS Battery Backups

So after many many years, I decided to finally buy a UPS due to power outages during storms I've been experiencing lately. Totally interrupts my work. I bought a Tripp-Lite G1000U from Costco for about $100. I can't believe I've never used one of these before! Not only does it let me continue running my computer for a while in case of power outages, but it stabilized the power going into my pc. It has a voltage display on the front, and I can't believe the fluctuation I'm getting from the incoming power!!! It bounces around from 117-122 volts as my apartment's air conditioner kicks on and off.

I don't know if it's harmful to our pc's to have constant fluctuation, but it does give some piece of mind knowing that I'm now getting good clean power into my computer. I believe they offer superior surge protection too.

So what's your take on UPS's? Are they worth it? Are they a must have item for the pc enthusiast, like a good PSU is? This is my first, so I'm honestly kind of unfamiliar with them.

This is the one I have:
    http://hombasics.com/tripplite-g1000...3eae4b40366f2a
    "Common sense is not so common." -Voltaire

Re: UPS Battery Backups

Originally posted by War.mongeR1 View Post
    I can't believe the fluctuation I'm getting from the incoming power!!! It bounces around from 117-122 volts as my apartment's air conditioner kicks on and off.
    I don't know if it's harmful to our pc's to have constant fluctuation, but it does give some piece of mind knowing that I'm now getting good clean power into my computer. I believe they offer superior surge protection too.
    Voltage of 117 to 122 is far superior to anything that must be provided. Normally manufacturers will not provide such numbers since UPSes are mostly sold on myths and outright lies.