Cloud and Back Up

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cloud and Back Up

I'm new to online back up/clouds. Maybe some smart TG people can show me the light. I use xmarks and lastpass to sync my bookmarks and passwords across multiple PCs. I want to be able to do that with files. When I make a change to a file on any PC or mobile device I want it synced with all the other PCs and devices via cloud. I also want this service to be used as a back up and support multiple versions of the same file without an expiration.

Many people here like Mozy for back ups, but they charge per PC and there is a 30 day expiration on versions of files from what I've read. So it won't work for me. Sugarsync or dropbox seam like they might work, does anyone have any experience with them or any similar service?

Re: Cloud and Back Up

Originally posted by Hambergler View Post
    I'm new to online back up/clouds. Maybe some smart TG people can show me the light. I use xmarks and lastpass to sync my bookmarks and passwords across multiple PCs. I want to be able to do that with files. When I make a change to a file on any PC or mobile device I want it synced with all the other PCs and devices via cloud. I also want this service to be used as a back up and support multiple versions of the same file without an expiration.

Many people here like Mozy for back ups, but they charge per PC and there is a 30 day expiration on versions of files from what I've read. So it won't work for me. Sugarsync or dropbox seam like they might work, does anyone have any experience with them or any similar service?
    Sugarsync works very well for this. There's even an iPhone app (if you're in the iPhone club) that allows you to pull files down, forward, edit, etc.
    Diplomacy is the art of saying "good doggie" while looking for a bigger stick.

Comment

I've been using dropbox for almost 2 years now. Works like a charm.

Comment