help: IT student and a webpage

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• help: IT student and a webpage

I want to preface this by making it clear that I am a student who is taking an IT course in college. I am aware that later in the course I will be tasked with building a small website.

I am curious about the web development software that is out there. I know of Dreamweaver and MS Frontpage, but that is about it.

Does anyone have some advice on what development software that is available online would be best suited for an inexperienced novice?

Interested in listening to guitar playing and a good conversation, look for me on TS.

"Hope is for the weak. I hope for nothing. I work for things. That is the only way for events to unfold." -Cleverbot

Re: help: IT student and a webpage

It depends on what you want. Are you focused on creating individual wep pages? Web site templates? Blogs? Wikipedia has a good overview of html editors: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTML_editor

As a general rule of thumb though, stay the hell away from frontpage and dreamweaver. They are a pox on good web devopment. Most of the really good web designers I know spend a lot of time in simple text editors with html highlighting enabled.

But, if you are moving beyond simple web pages into data driven web pages, then you need to start looking at ASP.NET by Microsoft and PHP technologies by Sun. Specifically, Visual Studio for ASP development and...erm...what are PHP developers using now? Can someone help me out?
    Twisted Firestarter
    a.k.a |TG| Harkonian
    sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by Twisted_Firestarter View Post
      As a general rule of thumb though, stay the hell away from frontpage and dreamweaver. They are a pox on good web devopment. Most of the really good web designers I know spend a lot of time in simple text editors with html highlighting enabled.