Ubuntu help please?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ubuntu help please?

I am putting together a system for a guy at work who is using a mix of new and some lightly used parts..

The hard drive he wants to use had Ubuntu 10.04 or something on it..but I need to get rid of that and load Win7..

Can one of you linux pro's point me in the easiest direction?

He ordered a 3-pack of win7 "upgrade" disks that have not come in yet, but I have everyrthing else and wanted to have the drive formatted and ready to load when the win7 disk got to me..

Sorry if this is an utter newb question..

I asked at the ubuntu forum and got a myriad of responses..from "just put int he windows DVD" to having to run something called "gparted" to wipe the drive, which I find is a linux app that has to run on a linux box (imagine that) that I do not have..

Thanks fellas..

Re: Ubuntu help please?

I'm not experienced all too much in Linux (never saw an explicit need to use it and give myself the headache) but you should be able to reformat the drive within the BIOS. If that's somehow not possible, make sure the boot order puts the DVD drive first and just have the Win7 disk do the reformat. Unless it's an absurdly bad drive, it really doesn't take that long.

Comment

So it is as easy as putting in the Win7 disk..?

In times past I had terrible trouble getting rid of a partition that was "non-windows" and it took a LOT of effort to delete the partition and reclaim use of the entire disk capacity..that has been a while, and myself only having used the win7 beta, am not familiar with a "clean install" of a retail version..I am still a sad panda that the beta went **poof**..!! :(

Maybe I should just wait until he gets me the disk and try it..who knows..Win7 might just make it very easy indeed..I sure hope so!

Comment