for anyone that goes to highschool...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• for anyone that goes to highschool...

im a sophomore in highschool. For my freshman year the cafeteria at my school sold both healthy snacks and junk food. This year, the federal government is giving our school some kind of incentive (i dont know the specific details) to get rid of all the junk food and replace it completly with health food (which, of course, tastes like pure ****). I can understand junior highschool and elementary schools enforcing this rule because the kids arent quite mature enough to decide whats good for them and to watch their own weight. However once you get to highschool, your big boys and girls and can make decisions on what you eat better. The average and underweight kids shouldnt have to suffer because there's a few fat kids. Responsible overweight kids generally ate the healthy foods that the school provided before, and the underweight kids could still enjoy lunch. Im pissed off at this for 2 reasons, 1) I want to be allowed to eat what i want and 2) its almost insulting to tell us that when were 16 we still cant tell the difference between a honey bun and an apple, and when each is appropriate. Whats the view on this from other highschoolers and the adults as well?

Re: for anyone that goes to highschool...

All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy, sweets are a fine mix up for fat kids too. Just not like 6,000 daily.

You got the preverbial bad end of the stick.

Comment

In high school I would get a Grandma's Double chocolate cookie with a caramel candy all nuked up by Beth at our little snack shop. That and a coke was lunch many days, but I was a skinny kid. That was almost 20 years ago! I don't think junk food is more prevalent now, but I do know the trails we used to ride our BMX bikes on are all coverd up by grass & weeds now. Back then there were only so many hours of Pong you could handle. :icon16: