Spyware Embedded in Harddrive Code

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spyware Embedded in Harddrive Code

Another disturbing revelation about the scale of spying conducted by the NSA. It is nothing less than extraordinary that this is being done in the name of democracy and freedom.

Former NSA operatives confirmed to Reuters that the analysis by Kaspersky, a highly reputable anti-virus firm, was correct. They said the NSA’s ability to secretly embed spyware into hard drives has long been prized by the surveillance agency.

While the scope of the operation isn't fully understood yet, Kaspersky's chief malware analyst and other cybersecurity experts helped explain what's contained in the report, how the spyware works and why the revelations may have caught so many by surprise.
    sigpic

Re: Spyware Embedded in Harddrive Code

Considering I work in the field, there are a LOT of things that others (including myself) have developed, designed, or played with that are HORRIBLY frightening when used or taken out of context. I understand the capability, but the specific implementation of that capability is what should be worrying, not the capability itself. The risk is in the actual implementation.

Scope matters. Quite a lot.
    Diplomacy is the art of saying "good doggie" while looking for a bigger stick.

Comment

I wonder if that implementation could be used to comprise valuable systems by hackers with malicious intent.

I read that on Engadget yesterday and nearly spit back out my drink. Makes me think of the Activision rootkit fiasco from the late 1990s.
      |TG-18th| Acreo Aeneas
      TG World of Tanks Clan Executive Officer
      Former 9th & 13th

Pronounciation: Eh-Cree-Oh Ah-Nay-Ess
      Still can't say it? Call me Acorn then. -.-

SSDs I Own: Kingston HyperX 3K (240 GB), Samsung 840 Pro (256 GB), Samsung 840 EVO (250 GB), Samsung 840 x 2 (120 GB), Plextor M5S (120 GB), OCZ Vertex (30 GB)

TG Primer and Rules

Comment