Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Fat Fingered Financial Failure, Forshadowing Firing.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fat Fingered Financial Failure, Forshadowing Firing.

Got a kick out of this one...

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article...917093,00.html

Lucky Shot

Re: Fat Fingered Financial Failure, Forshadowing Firing.

+rep just for the title...

ouch that sucks
    that sounds like a good idea trooper.
    -Vulcan

Comment

I hope the deal is reversed. It's obviously a mistake and shouldn't have happened. The results could have serious economic consequences. We're not talking about getting all the beanie babies at a K-Mart for $1 each here.

Comment

Originally posted by Lucky Shot
        Got a kick out of this one...

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/article...917093,00.html

Lucky Shot
        Great title! +rep.

Yeah, I work in the Securities Industry. This type of crap happens all the time, but not usually at that level. That's one hell of a mistake.

Wow. That guy is gone. Never will work again in this industry.

Comment

Originally posted by leejo
          I hope the deal is reversed. It's obviously a mistake and shouldn't have happened. The results could have serious economic consequences. We're not talking about getting all the beanie babies at a K-Mart for $1 each here.
          Can stock market trades be reversed at all, even in error? I'm not very familiar with the rules of trading.
          [squadl]
          "I am the prettiest african-american, vietnamese..cong..person." -SugarNCamo

Comment

I'm surprised they are going to make it stand. I suppose though, if you had a cock-up with a single entity(broker/dealer) it wouldn't be so big a deal to get it cancelled, but since they executed trades with lots and lots of retail clients(that's the impression I got, not just a broker), maybe that makes it harder to cancel...