X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• They also made #2 - Clerks 2 that is!

Remember these guys?

Well, they're back...

That's right! As a teaser to another highly-anticipated movie this summer (See Beatnik's Jackass 2 thread), I'm happy to call attention to the upcoming release of Clerks 2 (July 21).

For me, the original Clerks is an absolute all-time comedy classic. It's probably the movie that I've quoted more than any other (well, maybe just behind Raising Arizona, Office Space, and Moonstruck - yes, Moonstruck. It's an awesome movie -- deal with it!). Clerks debuted right after I graduated from College before I found a job. I completelty associated myself with the angst of being a twenty-something who hated his job, brought plotlines from Star Wars into everyday life, and was concerned about how many...uh..."intimate encounters" my girlfriend had had with other guys before she met me (she's now my wife - so shut it!).

I thought Kevin Smith was an absolutely brilliant director who pulled off a low-budget blockbuster. However, apart from Chasing Amy, I found his work after Clerks to be sub par. I'm hoping that by returning to his roots, Clerks 2 will be just as much of a classic that the original is. Coincidentally, Clerks 2 opens on the day I get back to the U.S. for vacation so there is a good chance that the theater may be one of my first stops after the airport.
    LoyalGuard

Re: They also made #2 - Clerks 2 that is!

I'm going to watch this day it comes out. I'm sure it won't match clerks, but hopefully some of the magic will be there was the original. I can't wait.

Comment

This is the only movie I have been really looking forward to for awhile now. I will be there opening night.

Comment

Originally posted by loyalguard
        I thought Kevin Smith was an absolutely brilliant director who pulled off a low-budget blockbuster. However, apart from Chasing Amy, I found his work after Clerks to be sub par.