X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Project: The Law Works Both Ways

--Disclaimer: This is Long --

Background:

I've been driving for about 7 years now and over those years I've definately had my share of tickets. Most of them have been seat belt ticket -- I have one point-worthy moving violation (failure to signal, pfft) -- and then random stuff like unclear plates, obstructed view etc. In the lesser instances, a cop is cutting me a break on speeding or whatever reason they decide to pull me over. Thats great, I appreciate that. Some of my tickets have been completely bogus though and I've fought those in court on several occasions (winning while self represented). The problem there is that even winning is a pain in the ass because it takes time and money just to show up in court.

My gripe here isn't necessarily just with the cops issuing meaningless tickets. Its with the way traffic tickets are primarily used to generate revenue in court and not to punish people who drive inappropriately. Its often the municipality that imposes that kind of mandate, not necessarily the police department. While sitting in court enjoying my due process I've had the opportunity to observe how money is extracted from people for the most meaningless offenses. There is no interest in the details of the event or whether an offense even occured, courts simply push people through a prosecutor plea agreement where the 'offender' ends up changing their fine to a no point offense, often times costing individuals alot of extra money in the process. The insurance companies who would otherwise raise rates to compensate for the fact that a particular driver is unsafe is left unaware while the state fills its coffers by fudging the fines in their financial favor.