Sexism, Stigma and Homophobia - A Nurse's Tale

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sexism, Stigma and Homophobia - A Nurse's Tale

So I need somewhere to blow off some steam, and my friends at TG have always been kind enough to oblige and provide some feedback. I'm going to rant a bit here, but I'd like to open this up as a discussion to all fields and not just my profession. So heres the rant.

First off, I apologize for not seeing a lot of you in game the last few weeks. I've been literally buried with work. There was a major upheaval with some of the staff at my hospital and those of us left in the aftermath had to double and sometimes triple down on shifts just to make sure it was covered. Put short, it's been hell.

For those that dont know, I'm a nurse. Thats right, a male nurse.

When I was an undergraduate, I knew going in that nursing was a female-dominated society. This harkens back to the age of male dominated sexism in medicine, where men were doctors and women were nurses. The sad thing is, that even though that age is long since over, the sexism remains, but in an opposite fashion. Men are the outcasts. I read in a recent nursing journal that 43% of female nurses believe that any man in nursing is there for one of three reasons:
    1.) He's a deviant.
    2.) He's gay.
    3.) He's a med school dropout who walked into nursing as a cop-out.
    I have a problem with all three of those. I'm not a deviant, I'm not gay and I never went to medical school. Of the three, the biggest is the third. I find it to be the pinnacle of hypocrisy. Nursing school was HARD, and thats no joke. All of these female nurses know it cause they went through it, and yet they feed sexism by not only practicing it themselves, but also belittling themselves by saying that a guy who couldnt hack medical school is somehow going to be able to come into "their" line of work and breeze through. Ridiculous.