Obama vs NEA

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Obama vs NEA

If you're going to attack someone (in this case, Obama) when he does something you don't like, you also need to give props when he does something good.

Obama VS NEA (national education admin).

I have been wanting this for YEARS! As a teacher, I was tired of working 60-80 hours working and getting paid as teachers who worked less then the ammount for which they were contracted. The NEA has set up teacher pay to look like a spreadsheet. Your degree across the top, your years of experience down the side. Match the column and row up, that's how much you get paid. PERIOD. No pay raise for working hard, no lower raise for not working hard. The NEA totally opposes obama on this of course.

I hate the NEA. I joined for 2 reasons
    1) for the $1 million in insurance and rabid lawyers in case I ever got accused of something I didn't do.
    2) to try to change their view, which included going with them to the state capital and totally undermining them when they talked to reps, basically disagreeing with MOST (i ahve to admit it isn't 100%) of what the NEA stands for.

The NEA's pay system rewards teachers for doing nothing. It says, we don't care how hard you work, you get the same. If you are a slacker who somehow gets tenure, we will defend adn support you no matter what. That is wrong and it is ruining education, IMO.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/politico/200...politico/19824
    -----------------------------------------------
    After weeks of pleasing Democrats by overturning policies set by the previous administration, President Barack Obama Tuesday will for the first time confront a powerful constituency in his own party: teachers’ unions.

Obama will propose spending additional money to reward effective teachers in up to 150 additional school districts, fulfilling a campaign promise that once earned him boos from members of the National Education Association.