Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Electrician Question

Hi Folks,
    Any Electricians out there in TG land? I have a Question...

Is it CODE to put exposed ROMEX 12-2 in a Garage in Conduit of some sort? Or is exposed Romex ok stapled to a frame?

Secondly..I put a 60 Amp Service in my garage a few years back (Square D box) and ran the Underground Conduit up from the floor to the BOX. Well, I just realized that I put the BOx in Upside down (The Printing on the box is upside down)..to make it easier/cleaner to bring the main power into the box. Is that a Code Violation?

Thanks
    |TG|ARMA Pathfinder
    ..now where did I put my keys?

Re: Electrician Question

I'm not a registered electrician but I have participated in rewiring a new home and was involved with the compliance during new home purchase. A home inspection for a sale (here) did not care about the exposed Molex or direction of a box for resale although it would not actually pass compliance if it was inspected by code. I do know that other states/cities do require conduits for Molex that would otherwise be exposed for home sale so I would strongly suggest contacting your local government for code compliance requirements in your area.
    |TG-6th|Snooggums

Just because everyone does something does not mean that it is right to do.

Comment

Thanks for the info... I am puttiing in a Swimming pool pump that needs inspected and I am going to run a new GFI in Conduit for that run (inside the garage)..I just don't want to be nailed for old work on this inspection..
      I think we (our area) is using the Universal Building Code.. or whatever the National Standard is..
      |TG|ARMA Pathfinder
      ..now where did I put my keys?

Comment