No announcement yet.

Best Settings for Youtube? (Codecs, File Format, etc.)

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Settings for Youtube? (Codecs, File Format, etc.)

Hello all, I've been getting very serious with my video recordings and lately wanted to try some more intense games like Battlefield Bad Company 2. I usually record with FRAPS, although I've noticed that with my computer and BC2 the framerate isn't acceptable in some areas. Pending I fix that my major issue is compression. I tend to use Virtualdub to convert and compress all my footage using the Xvid codec. Anyways the visuals for all other games have been absolutely stunning at 720p but for first person shooters like BC2 it's... not up to par. I feel like the video quality could be a bit better.

I've mainly been comparing my vids to Exploding_Silver's and his look drop dead gorgeous compared to mine. Any suggestions on what codec to use? File Format? Editor? Or heck is there an alternative to recording with FRAPS that is quite decent?

Re: Best Settings for Youtube? (Codecs, File Format, etc.)

I play BC2 at 1280x720 all medium settings with dx9 and AA at 1, and record fraps at full screen, so fraps footage is at 1280x720
    Then i edit in vegas platinum version 6 (costs) (vegas is now at version 9, dont get the entry level program as it wont render over 800x600, you need platinum edition)
    I render out of vegas as wmv (because version 6 does a bad job with h.264 codec, version 9 may be better)
    I then push the wmv through mediacoder (free) at 4500 kbps setting to create an mp4 with h.264 codec
    I then upload the mp4 to youtube, the purpose of creating an mp4 is just to create a small file with the same visual quality
    uploading at 1280x720 triggers the youtube HD

so its res 1280x720 throughout the process, from playing res to footage to wmv out of vegas to mp4 out of mediacoder
    the key is the footage, getting res 1280x720 and medium game settings does it for me