PvP question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PvP question

This morning I was running thru a 0.4 system, seeing how my vexor setup fares against the rats there (quite well). I entered a field where there were a couple rats and one player that appeared to be mining (wasn't messing with the rats). I came in and toasted one rat and was working the other when he started attacking me. I couldn't warp out, so I targeted him and sent my drones after him and trained all four railguns on him. I took him down to hull pretty quickly while my armor rep and DCU kept me fairly secure with about 50% armor. He warped away.

I went to local asked him wtf? He said, "just a little damage test ;)"

So my question, since I'm a noob at PvP, what was going on here? The only other times I've been in PvP was catching a huge barrage and then being dead. I never had a chance to fight back. This time, I had the chance and did so.

Was he an opportunist that had a change of heart when he took damage? Is this 'damage testing' something that goes on?

His name was Pate 01. Dunno what he was flying, but 4x150mm Scout Rails and 5 drones gave him pause.
    "There are two kinds of people in this world. Those with guns and those who dig. You dig."
    EvE Online: Jintu Xi, Bandu McWilly
    PLAYSTATIONŽNetwork & Steam = "TrickyTerp"

Re: PvP question

He was trying his luck. Its a common pirating tactic to wait until your mark is in combat with NPCs, and then basically use them as extra DPS to kill the innocent player NPCing. Sounds like you gave a good accounting of your self. This is why I always fit a warp scrambler, even if I am NPC hunting :)
    Do or do not, there is no try....
    -- Yoda, Dagobah

Comment

Yeah, if you can possibly do it, it's better to be ratting in your full blown pvp setup. Makes for quite the nasty surprise if someone like that tangles with you.

But good job for driving him off!!

Comment

Anyone who isn't blue in low sec or 0.0 class as hostile.