Level 2 Mission: The Blockade

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Level 2 Mission: The Blockade

First, I apologize for any inaccuracies in my brief account. I'm still learning the ropes on ship types/damage, etc...but wanted to throw out my "recollection" of events to get the point across.

Well, I've finally made it to level 2 missions...I was so excited, I could hardly control myself! After an initial courier mission or two, I finally got a real mission: The Blockade. Sounded interesting, the level 1 mission version was long, but easily accomplished with my Rifter or Thrasher. This should be a piece of cake, right? ....errrrrr. WTFO!

After warping to the encounter area, I engage the enemy by approaching to my optimal range for 3x280mm Howitzer and 4x250 Artillery (Thrasher). The enemy have a web station on line, so I'm easily swarmed by the numerous enemy Thrashers and get popped.

Now I'm pissed. Rebuild my Thrasher, this time with 7x250mm (no 280mm in the area, plus I wanted a faster reload) and a MwD. This time, I'm able to keep them at optimal (around 10km), though I start to engage at 20km with some effect. MwD is on 100% of the time...my cap is holding steady with no problems. Make it through the first wave, pop the web station...then face and defeat the next three waves with a brief intermission to refit Fusion S and pop in a Shield Booster to keep my shields healthy.

My tactic for the first 3-4 waves was to hold the smaller, faster ships at 10km and engage one at a time with all 7 arty. Pop them fast, then move on. When I get to the Destroyer Class enemy (with arty of their own) I set up a 10km orbit with MwD on (around 900-1000 speed) and hit them with all 7 again. The damage is slightly less, I assume due to tracking, but he's unable to hit me at all while I nibble away.

Back to the fight! Stage 4 or 5 (I forgot), now I'm being engaged by a blob of Thrashers, Interceptors, and a Cruiser, each lobbing missiles at me from 30+km away!