No announcement yet.

FNF Feb 27 new squad lead edition AAR

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• [AAR] FNF Feb 27 new squad lead edition AAR

The Feb. 27 FNF was designed to run potential corporals through some fights in which TG officers coud mentor and evaluate. Because infantry leading and air/armor leading are different animals, it was decided to focus on infantry for the night.

We had three potential corporal candidates and one experienced SL leading the squads, and an inexperienced pl (me) running the show.

From the PL perspective, I was not at all happy with my performance of PL. I am not very experienced in this role, especially with four full squads, and struggle with the dirction of the whole platoon. I had been planning on more of e SL mentor role for the night, maybe if I was mentally prepped for PL I might have pre planned the evening a bit better, but we were short on officers for the night so I ended up with the PL role for a while.

The first fight of the night was extremely intense, which was not the intention. I thought it would be a quicker fight that we could have everyone working together on, but it ended up being a slog. The other fights on the map were either just as big, or 1-12 actions where I felt it would be overkill and boring to plonk 48 people onto, so I opted to split the quads up a bit into individual fights that I felt would be interesting but winnable. This ended up witht the platoon feeling fractured, and in many cases these small fights turned directly into big ones that had to be abandoned which never feels good to the squad.

Neither approach seemed to work very well, so from a pl perspective I will be looking for advice from more experienced people. I did realize that PL comms needed to be less wordy, and ended up putting comms into platoon chat, which I hoped worked okay. Apologies for over explaining strategy in the mids of intense fighting and overloading comms.