Some possible stuff in the pipe

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Some possible stuff in the pipe

Lately I've become more resigned with regards to Planetside's future and DBG's ability to deliver. Between a long history of over-promising and under-delivering, and reading Malorn and Higby's reddit comments, I'm getting the sense that DBG lacks a coherent vision for the game and that the size of the team, company, and management structure have sharply curtailed their ability to work quickly and respond quickly. This isn't an uncommon situation for big studios (scaling up is haaaaard), but there's a reason I'm an indie game developer and not in AAA development, even if the latter would mean a much more reliable paycheck. It also gives me very little reason to believe that DBG will execute on any of their larger ambitions in anything resembling a decent timescale; PS2 is an excellent game as it stands, but it's always had enormous promise and it's disheartening to think that it might not be realized.

That said; if they deliver even HALF of what's in here I'll hop back on the hype train again.

PTS Patch notes here.

Now, important caveats: just because these files are on the PTS doesn't mean we'll see them soon, or ever. As a developer was quick to point out, things go on the test server for all sorts of internal reasons (including "so that they're there later if we want them") and many things that have shown up in the PTS data dumps (like new empire specific tank weapons that were even visible in their Nexus teaser video... not to mention Nexus itself!) never made the live servers. Apparently, a lot of these are from art outsourcing quite some time ago as well (the ANT was outsourced around the same time Tramell Isaac left the team).