Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What are good hardware choices for a PS2 rig?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What are good hardware choices for a PS2 rig?

I had a friend offer to give me an older computer but that fell through so now I'm going to be building one, very soon.

Its been a while since I've been in the gaming ring and I've never built a computer before but I'd like to know what you guys have got and how well does it run PS2. Budget is probably midrange and I'm looking at MSI 960 as a GPU and the I7 devilbridge.

Re: What are good hardware choices for a PS2 rig?

Well, you don't really need an i7 at all unless you are doing some additional multithreaded work loads in addition to gaming (video compression, etc.). Save yourself $100 and put it toward other components. Also, I think you could probably get a lot better GPU for the money than that 960 right now.

I am running an i5-4690k, Sapphire R9 290, 16 GB RAM, Intel SSD and I am getting like 70 FPS in the warpgate, and maybe around 30 in big fights. Keep in mind however that I am pushing a monster 30" screen (@2560 x 1600) at highest graphics settings, plus (2x) 20" side monitors in a 20 30 20 PLP setup (although those only display TeamSpeak, or web browser, or whatever). And I haven't even over clocked anything yet.
    "The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it." - George Bernard Shaw

Comment

Wow. Yeah I doubt I'd be even running a similar screen setup. Probably will settle for a nice 23'' display or similar but I would be running two monitors though the other one wouldn't be for gaming normally.

See that is what I thought about the i5 versus i7. Is the i7 necessary for any game out now or soon to be out?

Comment

"Necessary"? No.