WoW and Linux

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WoW and Linux

I know that a couple of our Guild run World of Warcraft on linux, so I wanted to get a couple of questions answered by them.

First: Do you use Cedega (I have a subscription) or regular WINE?

Next: I understand that with Cedega (probably with WINE as well) I need to move the updater outside of the install directory, then execute it, then move it back, but I can't find WHEN I needed to move it back. Is it right after execution, or right before if goes to update the updater?

Lastly: what tips and tricks have you found that gets the game to run smoothly on your distro?

Thanks!

Re: WoW and Linux

Good questions. I'm playing on my Venice 3000 system with XP64 but I've also got Fedora i386 and x86_64, and I'd love to play from there. Using ntfsmount I could even play from my XP WoW directory, but I don't know how safe that is.
    Dude, seriously, WHAT handkerchief?

snooggums' density principal: "The more dense a population, the more dense a population."

Iliana: "You're a great friend but if we're ever chased by zombies I'm tripping you."

Comment

Yea Mateo, if you could find some way to make it easy to get WoW along side TacticalOS, I might just have to take a look =D
      RAWGRLRLRLRRLGLRL!!!

Nations are like individuals: they achieve more when they plan to plant a tiny tree, and do it, than when they propose to raise an entire forest and then fall asleep in the furrows.

I AM socializing artard, I'm logged on to an MMORPG with people from all over the world and getting XP with my party using Teamspeak

Comment

Originally posted by Vinzalf
        Yea Mateo, if you could find some way to make it easy to get WoW along side TacticalOS, I might just have to take a look =D
        I'm taking it one game at a time. World of Warcraft is first up.

Did I mention that Linux is tha hotness?