UI/Mods

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UI/Mods

I've been giving some thought to revamping my UI. I've seen various screenshots in the past and always thought "I should do something like that to make my screen less full of crap". After seeing Arkamis' screenshot of Rag's room I made up my mind to try some things out. I thought I'd see if anyone wants to share some of their secrets and tricks. I'd love to see screenshots, but more than that I really want to see what you guys are using (which mods, if its a downloaded UI which one, etc.). Since I've really only used the out-of-the-box WoW toolbars I'm a complete noob when it comes to this.

Currently I use the following mods, some affect UI, some don't:
    Benecast (Turn off party features in a raid)
    Scrolling Combat Text
    Gatherer
    CT_RaidAssist and Decursive (duh)
    CT_MailMod
    ItemRack
    AggroAlert
    (probably some others I'm forgetting)

I'm in the process of picking up a couple more mods. Gaviin won't stop bothering me until I get KLHThreatmeter.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Gigan - Shaman (Resto)
    Pistos - Semi-retired Shadowpriest
    ...and other distractions of various levels.

Re: UI/Mods

I used CosmosUI for a while until I realized that it was just way more than I needed or wanted, so I decided to go the individual addon route. Now I just go to curse-gaming every so often and make sure that I update my relatively small list of addons to the latest versions. It's been working really well so far.

I see screenshots of UIs like Ark's, and while they do look cool and somewhat appealing, I just can't help but think that, in the end, it would be a big pain to install and configure all that. And if you ever have to delete and reinstall your addons (which I have had to do in the past), the more complex things are, the bigger the hassle. I sort of subscribe to the doctrine of "keep it simple".