No announcement yet.

worth it?

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• worth it?

I see you guys playing Lomac all the time and have thought about getting it, but I read that it's buggy and that the manual is non-existant. I feel like I wasted money on IL-2 for the exact same reasons...I could barely get the plane off the ground because the manual was so sketchy, and the tutorials usually just crashed. Pass.

So what's the deal with Lomac? Get it? Wait for some patches? How about system specs? I understand it's pretty demanding.

Also, I have an old thrustmaster Mark II FCS. Is that sufficient or do I need a whole damn hotas setup to handle the plane?

One thing that's for sure is we've been playing more LOMAC than IL2. It sure takes a lot of power to run nicely. Turning on options like AA and AF really take a bite out of your framerates. I've never tried the LOMAC demo but that might help you find out how well the final version will run.

I think LOMAC is a bit more popular because of the co-op. It's easier to get together and teach each other how to fly. We had several sessions of learning how to lock on with mavericks and to do bombing runs. We'll definitely do it again for anybody new to the game. The tutorials are about the same as IL2. It's just some subtitles while you watch a plane fly. It was a little easier going through the LOMAC tutorials though. The next patch should fix the ones that aren't working properly right now (plane crashes). It's still best to go through the tutorials once or twice then fly with us to get a better understanding. It's so much easier when you can ask someone and they can explain it in several different ways.