No announcement yet.

RTS unit selection. (A rant)

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• RTS unit selection. (A rant)

Is it just me or is this the crappiest part of of these types of games?

I just started playing "Supreme Commander" and unit selection is not much better than what Starcraft offered back in, what, 1997?

The game itself is great. The sense of scale is wonderful.

But even with the huge scale I only get ten groups! Crazy talk! The game deals with hundreds, maybe even thousands, of units. And I only get ten groups?

In Starcraft one thing I liked to do was create groups that often included the same unit. For example I would have five "attack" groups that was combined arms. But I would also have groups of air units and groups of marines. I would use them to rapidly respond to threats of a specific nature. I ran into group limits then but because of the total unit limit imposed by the game and the relatively small size of the maps it was not to bad.

In Supreme Commander this doesn't work. Add the more diverse types of troops and that ten group limit becomes a huge pain.

The whole transport load and unload thing still hasn't been done very well either. There was one game, Rise of Nations i think it was, that handled this aspect pretty good. You told a group to "go here" it would use any transports included to achieve the goal. But once at the desitnation the transports just sat there unless I told them to return.

What I would like to see is a way to set up a way to tell transports and troops to load then when full drop off troops at a particular point. After the drop off return to the original port.