CIV ... RTS ... Really?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CIV ... RTS ... Really?

Uh ... isn't CIV TURN-BASED strategy (TBS)? Not RTS? (Shifts eyes mischieveously ... )

dV

Re: CIV ... RTS ... Really?

Civ indeed is turn based strategy game, you do your moves in turns and when every1 has moved / ended their turn next one begins.

Thats is very simple version of how it works, ofcourse there is much more than just moving in this game.

And because Civ is turn based it really isn't that much joy for eye, so it might look boring at first sight, then when you have tested it and notice still playing it after 4hours you really are hooked : P

There are some benefits in TBS when compared to RTS, including long play times.Most related RTS type to TBS would be 4xRTS, whick has still slow tempo as in TBS but everything happens in real time.

Comment

Thanks Silver Pipe ... While I am new here, I am a veteran at Civ Fanatics, and was mostly poking fun at CIV living in the RTS forum.

RTS seems to come down to who has better command of the keyboard shortcuts, and more ninble fingers (neither one is my forte), or better thumbs in the case of console game.

And RTS seems to give rise to pretty wild strategies that can be done on autopilot (the pikeman spam in online play in the Cossacks series comes to mind).

So TBS (and Civ) suits me just fine!

dV

Comment

Originally posted by da_Vinci View Post
        Thanks Silver Pipe ... While I am new here, I am a veteran at Civ Fanatics, and was mostly poking fun at CIV living in the RTS forum.

RTS seems to come down to who has better command of the keyboard shortcuts, and more ninble fingers (neither one is my forte), or better thumbs in the case of console game.

And RTS seems to give rise to pretty wild strategies that can be done on autopilot (the pikeman spam in online play in the Cossacks series comes to mind).

So TBS (and Civ) suits me just fine!
        :)