Tactics

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tactics

I'm pretty new to Civ IV, and have never played a Civ game before this one, and so I have a question. What tactics do you tend to employ? How do you like to climb the tech tree? Preferred Civ setups? I ask these questions b/c I turned the difficulty up when playing the other day and I got stomped. I'm always looking for ways to streamline, and I thought it would be nice if everyone would share their strategies or at least some of the more popular ones that they may have picked up elsewhere.

Re: Tactics

grrr! give me your technologies! lol, anyways, since no one has posted anything I thought I'd post a favorite tactic of my own.

I'm not sure how well known this tactic is, but I find it useful for gaining stonehenge and the pyramids within the first 30 turns. The best way to accomplish this is w/ the use of India and their fast workers, and requires that your first city is near about 4-5 tiles of forests. The idea is to research bronze working ASAP to gain the ability to remove forests. Typically, you will need about 15 turns to produce your first fast worker, so you should plan your tech research accordingly so that you don't have a fast worker who can't chop down forests yet. This plan does leave your city fairly wide open, but if you manage to get a fast worker out w/ the ability to remove forests the resulting increased production will give you the great early advantages provided by these two wonders. IMO, it's probably best to research hunting sometime right before or after bronze working so that you can bring out scouts to search for those all important villages, and from there your strategy is up to you.

Comment

Try this link. It has a lot of ideas.

http://forums.civfanatics.com/index.php?
      The Old Guy
      kin3
      sigpic

Comment

tyvm, it's frustrating playing Civ IV w/ no real aim or direction!

Comment

Wow what a late reply from me!