No announcement yet.

A MP Primer

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A MP Primer

Now before I get started here, let me state that all the information below is purely my own opinion and is based on my own playing style with Civ 4. I also don't have a lot of BTS experience but assume that most of the main points still hold true for that expansion. I also believe that much of this can also be applied equally successful to a SP game.

Now having said that, the goal with this primer is to provide information which may make you more competitive in Civ 4 multiplayer games. I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but I have done a fair amount of SP and been in 6+ MP games, having won my share of them. ;)

The big challenge in Civ 4 games is finding the right balance between your economics and military. It seems like most all of the decisions you make are a compromise in one form or another. To try to write a primer that is all encompassing would be a book likely the size of the US tax code. What I'll do is break it down into 3 main areas with highlights in each.

Ignore your defenses at your own peril! I can't stress this enough for MP and it's a mistake I see people make again and again. If you show your neighbors a weak front, you are asking to be invaded. The same holds true for the AI in SP. No amount of empire building is going to help when the enemy shows up with a big stack at your door step. Check the demographics and the power chart in particular to see how you compare against other nations who you have made contact with. If you see a neighbor's power rating starting to climb steeply, that can be an indicator that they are rapidly building up their military.

Now on the other side of the coin, an early war can give you some very nice cities, especially when you capture an opponent's capital. Be warned though! Against a human player it is advisable to only start a fight you can finish. ;)