Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

New to Arma II and to playing online in general. Am I in the right place??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Arma II and to playing online in general. Am I in the right place??

Hi all

I also made a similar post to this on the BIS forums...........I'm very new to Arma II (I only played OA so far had it a couple of days, will install the main game soon), and very new to PC gaming in general.

I really love the way this game immerses you. Ive played a few other franchises which seem like toy games in comparison to this.
    I'm really keen on playing some MP as I can imagine this game really shines in that context. The most MP Ive played is a few hours on some racing games.

Im slowliy making my way through the guides, primer etc, but I have a few general questions:

1. I'm new to all this. In other words, I'm not very good yet. I intend to practice in SP to get better, but would still like to join a squad and start dipping my toes in MP. However, the game itself is more simulation than arcade, and all of the squads Ive seen do understandably seem fairly serious about playing.
    Does TG welcome newer players with less experience and lower current skill levels? I really want to find a friendly community to play in where serious fun is paramount and players of all levels are welcome. Am I likely to find that type of environment here?

2. I have a family, and work 2 jobs. I play when I can, but can't always commit to playing at certain scheduled times - does TG welcome people in such situations? I get the impression from the few squads Ive looked at that theres not much point trying to join unless you can make more solid commitments time wise