Straw Poll VON and latency.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Straw Poll VON and latency.

I have seen an increase in ping response since the introduction of VON from around 90ms to an average of around 140+ , I am interested if anyone else is having the same issue?

PS I am located in merry old England and have a 6 / 2 DSL connection with a 10:1 contention.

Any feedback appreciated before I rip my router to pieces :)
    Last edited by HOTMACHINA; 09-15-2009, 04:34 PM.

Re: Straw Poll VON and latency.

i havent been playing attention, but i have heard von is very bandwith intensive, so that may have to do with it, eithier way a 140ping is not to bad.

Comment

I started playing after the beta patches were put into effect, but my ping to TG has always hovered above 100ms, usually in the 110-130 range. I can't really recall what my ping used to be to the A1 servers but I'm guessing about the same.

What I'd like to know too is if A2's netcode is just worse than A1's or if I've forgotten what it was like, because it seems other player characters and vehicles "skip" a lot more than in A1 at the same pings.

Comment

my ping has stayed the same since we started using von ~40-50.
        sigpic
        |TG-1st|Grunt
        ARMA Admin (retired)
        Pathfinder-Spartan 5

Comment

I have not noticed any difference.
          |TG-12th| tHa_KhAn

XBL GT: Khan58

Comment

I haven't noticed any difference either.

Comment

My ping goes from about 120 to 500ms now. I used to get steady 70 - 150 ms without von. It gives me yellow chain and if I talk no one understands what i say because it breaks up, I also have a problem understanding what people say to me becasue some people break up badly.

I checked my internet speed on test websites and im still getting 5 or 6 mb down so my connection is the same as it was before von.

I think von is a bandwidth hog because of the bad netcode in arma 2.

Comment