No announcement yet.

Urban Engagements May 10-11th, 2008

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Urban Engagements May 10-11th, 2008

Howdy, all. I've gotten back into ArmA after a long lay off primarily due to the release of the 1.12 beta. The game finally seems to be where I wish it would have been a year ago.

In any event, I'm pretty rusty. I've been playing primarily on Evolution servers as I get my feet under me again. This past Saturday evening, I noticed that one of the TG servers was running a mission I'd never seen before and there were about a dozen or so players on already. More joined as the evening progressed. I think we peaked at about 20 or so.

When I joined, the assault on Masbete was already well under way. I chose to play as a sniper with the M107 as I'm still learning the weapon. A helo was just leaving as I joined and didn't return despite repeated requests for pickup. Comms in general were very chaotic. Everyone was on the 'side' channel with little to no apparent coordination. Under the circumstances, I figured I was best off lone wolfing it for a while until I got a feel for the mission and the gameplay.

Rather than wait for a lift that might never come, I decided to head for Masbete on foot. Besides, I also figured that a 4 km walk over hill and dale while enjoying the view sounded like just the kind of thing to start my evening. :)

The good news is that we had a couple of pilots flying transport. The bad news is that they weren't very good. ;) The assault on Masbete was finally successful despite the very heavy Shilka fire from east of town (leading to multiple heli crashes with no survivors). By the time I got there the town had been cleared. A guy whose tag was B decided he'd had enough of the very rough play and asked if anyone minded if he took over as platoon leader.