• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clarification on EVO vs ArmA

I may be a total noob with ArmA/EVo, but I understand that:
    -Evo is a mod of ArmA
    -A number of people do not like Evo

I have only played Evo, manly due to the fact that people I know play there and I need all the help I can get as I learn this game.

I have seen many threads about the virtues of ArmA over Evo (and vice versa), but so far, I have yet to figure out what the heck are the real differences. Could anyone write a clear-cut, OBJECTIVE description of the differences so I can understand what eveyone keeps talking about with such rancor.

I assume its like vanilla BF2 versus PR, but that is my only point of reference for a FPS games. However, it would be odd that people would choose a vanilla version of a game over a mod, so I assume that there is more to it.

Please explain? (nicely)

Re: Clarification on EVO vs ArmA

These have been my very limited experiences.

Built-In SP Camaign - I tried a couple of missions but nothing really grabbed me.

Evo - Lots of it, I like it b/c it is persistent and slow. It has so many elements there seems to be something for everybody. Better still is that since anyone can jump in anytime, squad up and be with his unit usually within 5-10 mins, it makes for easy transitions. Yes, it doesn't fill all of ArmA's potential but it is an overall great mission.

MP Coop Missions - I've only done a couple of these but they were fantastic. Excellent planning, coordination, and teamwork. Because there is for the most part only one mission (with various primary and secondary triggerable objectives) it allowed us to focus as a team. It is also nice to see other respawn (body, SL, not at all) and equipment options that different coop missions have. But, again in my limited experience, late arrivals may have a hard time catching up depending on the mission and available transport and cannot always see objectives on the map that existed before they joined.