Flying Heli's is just good clean fun

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flying Heli's is just good clean fun

OK. so i suppose that topic leader could be followed by something like "Gosh golley willikers". It sounds a bit corny.

But flying helis is a really nice change up in pace from time to time to the hectic pace of Squad leading or grunting it on boots. I HIGHLY recommend it to any one who hasnt tried it yet.

I have a few hours in real Heli's, and I am not saying the models are by any means perfect (nor am I an expert on heli models), but they feel nice and are just challenging enough to be lots of fun.

a couple of nights ago, i learned about flying in FOG at night. Holy smokes what a surprise and a challenge. killed of a whole LB full of guys before i knew what was happening to me. Then i remembered to fly my instruments (in particular, the artificial horizon and the VSI and the altimeter.) I am now a much better pilot than the night before.

I lowered gradually in the fog until i could finally see the ground. i was very surprised when the first thing i saw was the tree tops, just underneath my skids. Wow that fog can be thick.

Great stuff. perfect challenge.

HINT:

Get a joystick with a throttle. if they can be seperate pieces, all the better.

Make sure the throttle works in reverse to other games like airplane sims. in other words, as you push the throttle forward, your Heli should sink toward the ground. it is more natural to fly that way. Just one man's opinion though. It makes flying more intuitive.